>What is a medical marijuana recommendation?
A medical marijuana recommendation is a medical document given to you by your doctor stating that you have a medical condition which may be helped by the use of medical marijuana. This recommendation document allows you to enter any dispensary/collective throughout the state of California and purchase marijuana for medical use. It also allows you to carry certain amounts of medical marijuana and to consume medical marijuana under certain conditions.
>What is a renewal?
California law requires patients to visit their doctor at least once per year to re-evaluate the patients’ use of medical marijuana. This must be done in person and cannot be done over email or phone. Once you have seen the doctor, you will be given a new medical marijuana recommendation. If your previous recommendation has expired within the last six months of your renewal visit, you will qualify for the renewal price. Please bring your old medical marijuana recommendation with you to your visit if it is from a different doctor office. We have no way of verifying your previous certificate if it is from another physician’s office.
>Do I need an Appointment?
We accept Walk-In patients. However, we encourage you to call ahead to make an appointment, so that you can be seen by the doctor faster than someone without an appointment.
>How much will this cost?
New Patient Evaluation: $50.00 for one full year with 24/7 verification included.
Renewal Patient Evaluation: $40.00 for one full year with 24/7 verification.
>What do I bring with me?
Please bring a valid California driver’s license or California state identification card with you for your visits. Other forms of ID may be okay. Please call ahead for details if you do not have a California ID. If you are doing a renewal from another doctor, bring your original recommendation or photo ID card with you.
>What should I do if I do not have any medical records?
You are not required to bring your medical records, but it is highly recommended.
>Will the doctor who gives me the recommendation be licensed?
Yes, each and every doctor working at this clinic is licensed by the State of California.
>Will my medical condition qualify?
There are many medical conditions which may qualify you for medical marijuana. Click here for common qualifying conditions. But if for any reason the doctor feels medical marijuana is not right for you, you will not be charged for your evaluation.
>What forms of payment do you accept?
We accept cash only. For your convenience, we have an ATM machine in the office, or stop at your local branch to save ATM fees.
>Will my medical insurance pay for my recommendation, renewal, or the cost of my medication?
As much as we would like it to, your medical insurance will not pay for any aspect of your medical marijuana care.
>Can I get a recommendation or renewal for longer than 1 year?
California medical board rules only allow the maximum length of a recommendation or a renewal to be one year. After that, you must come into the office for re-evaluation and to check on your progress.
>Is this confidential?
Patient’s medical records are strictly 100% confidential and secure under HIPPA privacy regulations. We do not report patient names to any state or federal government agency, employers, or insurance companies. It will not appear on any background checks. We take every step to ensure strict confidentiality for each and every patient. In order for your medical records to be released to anyone other than yourself, we would need to receive a court subpoena or your written permission.
>Will my name be listed on a state or government list?
No, we do not report lists to any state or federal government agency, employers, or insurance companies. However, if you are detained by law enforcement and have medical marijuana in your possession, it may be put into your records by the respective agency.
>Will my medical marijuana recommendation show up on a background check?
No, your office visit will not appear on any background checks performed by any schools, employers, insurances, or government agencies.
>What do I do after I get a recommendation from your office?
Your recommendation will immediately be active. You will be able to enter any dispensary/collective throughout California for the purchase of medical marijuana. You will be able to use medical marijuana legally immediately after your certificate is issued.
>Do you offer 24/7 verification?
Yes, we provide 24/7 verification through via phone and internet. This allows access to dispensaries 24/7 including weekends and holidays throughout California. It also allows law enforcement to verify you are a medical marijuana patient twenty-four hours a day should you find yourself in contact with the authorities.
>How should I transport my medical marijuana once I have made a purchase?
You should always put your medical marijuana in the trunk of your car while driving. It is ILLEGAL for any person who is under the influence of marijuana to drive a vehicle and may result in a DUI.
>Can I travel to another state with medical marijuana?
A recommendation from our office allows you to purchase and use medical marijuana ONLY in the state of California. You may not transport medical marijuana out of California into another state or country. It is illegal to transport medical marijuana into or out of the state of California, sell, furnish, give away, or attempt to give away marijuana. Do NOT take your medical marijuana into any federally controlled facilities such as an airport, even in the state of California.
>Where can I use medical marijuana?
You must only use marijuana in the privacy of your own home. The use of marijuana is not allowed in public parks, no smoking zones, within 1000 feet of a school or youth center except in private residences; on school buses, in a motor vehicle that is being operated, or while operating a boat.
>Once I become a legal patient, what new rights do I have?
Proposition 215, the California Compassionate Use Act, was enacted by the voters and took effect on Nov. 6, 1996 as California Health & Safety Code 11362.5. The law makes it legal for patients and their designated primary caregivers to possess and grow marijuana for their personal medical use with the recommendation of a California licensed physician.
Under prop 215, a valid recommendation from a doctor allows a patient to grow 6 mature OR 12 immature plants. At any given time patients may have in their possession up to a 1/2 pound (8 oz.) of processed cannabis per patient. Individual cities and counties are allowed to enact higher, but not lower, limits than the state standard. We STRONTLY recommend you do not carry more than one ounce of marijuana at any given time to avoid the appearance of being a distributor.
>Is it true that medical marijuana is illegal under federal law?
Marijuana is ILLEGAL under federal law and treated like other controlled substances. Federal law does not say that California laws, or any other state laws, are unconstitutional or should be eliminated. Usually federal charges occur only in cases where commercial distribution is suspected or large scale cultivation operations are discovered.
>Will local and state law accept my recommendation if I get pulled over?
Yes. CHP officers were told in August 22, 2005 of the new policy which now allows patients traveling on state highways to have up to 8 ounces of marijuana with a valid recommendation. Unfortunately there are still few rare cases where patients have their marijuana seized by CHP. In most cases these patients are able get retrieve their marijuana by going to court and presenting the judge with their recommendation. Always keep your medical marijuana paperwork with you if you are in possession of over an ounce of medical marijuana.
>What is a caregiver in regards to medical marijuana?
A primary caregiver is a person who consistently assumes the responsibility for the housing, health or safety of the patient. A trial judge in a Supreme Court ruling stated there has to be something more to be a caregiver than simply providing marijuana. So providing marijuana alone is not enough to be a patient’s primary caregiver.